Packing a work lunch requires a bit of imagination and a LOT of tupperware. Photo by Therese Kehler
Eat, Wild Rose D-Tox

Detox Day 2: On the run (but thankfully, not yet in the signature Wild Rose way)

This was a day that required some planning. Saturdays are my long run day on the training program for a half marathon (today’s distance: 10 kilometres) plus I was working an evening shift in the office, starting at 3:30 p.m.

It’s too early yet to be feeling many physical affects of the detox (specifically, the “internal cleansing” that the Wild Rose is so well know for.)  Foodwise, the meals are pretty close to my usual choices.

That said, the run was tough. My legs felt like lead! I think it is probably because I am still recovering from the half-marathon that I ran in Ottawa two weeks ago. But I also didn’t eat anything before  I went out, so that is something I can easily remedy.

Breakfast

Exact same as yesterday – oatmeal with berries, almond milk and nutmeg, plus coffee.

A lot of Wild Rose blogs talk about trying different things for breakfast. But really. In my real, non-cleasning life, breakfast is one of three things: hard-boiled egg and V8 juice, Greek yogurt with berries and / or nuts, bacon and eggs (that’s a weekend thing when my husband is cooking.)

So yes, I had porridge again and I am OK with that.

Lunch

Leftover fish stew with brown rice.

Not going to lie, the fish stew was a lot better on day 1. Maybe the cod got a bit tough in the reheating process.

Snack

Carrot and celery sticks with hummus. I haven’t eat hummus much of late, and forgot how nice it is. This was store-bought –  Sabra brand, roasted red pepper flavour. When working, I tend to eat at my desk (a lot!) so a baggie of veggies are perfect. If a tad crunchy noisy for some colleagues.

Dinner

Dinner was great! I made a meatloaf with beef and quinoa — loosely based on this recipe by Wild Rose D-Tox guy Terry Willard. I like sauteeing onions before mixing them into the beef. Also, I had a neglected cob of corn in the fridge, so I carved off the kernels and sauteed them as well. For heat, I threw in a minced chipotle pepper, so the whole thing ended up a bit of a Tex-Mex meatloaf. It was awesome — and very tupperware packable.

Sides were roasted sweet potato wedges and steamed broccoli.

 

Snack

Brown rice cakes with a bit of almond butter spread on them, and herbal tea. I’ve been trying the Lundberg Brown Rice cakes, which are fine, a bit like eating styrofoam. The almond butter really helped

Tell us what you thought about this article

