Loaf made from leftover cranberry sauce, with an oat steusel topping
#100daysofcooking, Recipes

Day 5: Cran-tastic in spite of everything


Cranberry-sauce Loaves with Streusel Topping


I don’t much like eating cranberry sauce.

I love making it — those popping berries! — and I’m glad to be able to do so for the sole brother-in-law who enjoys it with holiday turkey.

Post-turkey, however, the leftover sauce lurks in the refrigerator, ducks behind the milk, gets pushed back behind the pickles, then weeks later … good grief, is that still the cranberry sauce?

I had hoped the Internet would provide me with a use for leftover cranberry sauce that did not involve: a) muffins, b) loaves, or c) turkey sandwiches. No luck. There are countless blog posts about “XX ways to use up your leftover cranberry sauce,” but the common denominator is (drum roll) muffins.

Leftover cranberry sauce is awfully pretty. I use a microplaner to zest the orange.
Leftover cranberry sauce is awfully pretty.

The streusel topping from this recipe at a website called Ahead of Thyme caught my eye, so … muffins it is. (Well, it would have been except, midway through making the batter, I couldn’t find the muffin tins. So, as I said … loaves it is.)

I added some orange zest and cardamom to the batter. I also divided the batter between two loaf tins; I had visions of light and fluffy, but ended up with two, well, flat loaves. Very delicious, but a bit, er, compact.

Perhaps cranberry sauce doesn’t like me all that much either.

Kitchen castoff used

Leftover cranberry sauce

Loaves made from leftover cranberry sauce turned out a bit compact, but very tasty.
My cranberry sauce loaves turned out compact, but delicious.

This is how we did it

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ cups flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ¾ tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp cardamom
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup butter, softened
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • Zest from 1 orange
  • ½ cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 ½ cup cranberry sauce

For streusel topping

  • 3 tbsps each butter, oatmeal, brown sugar, plus 1 tsp cinnamon, combined

Method

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Combine the flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, cardamom and salt in a large bowl.

In a separate bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add egg, vanilla, orange zest and milk and combine. Add to dry ingredients, combine, then add the cranberry sauce and mix.

Pour into pre-greased muffin (or loaf) tins, top with streusel mix. For muffins, bake about 25 minutes. For loaves, bake for about 45. Either way, test with a toothpick for doneness.

About my 100 day project: 100 days of cooking, using forgotten or cast-off kitchen ingredients.

If you like this, you might enjoy previous posts about my #100daysofcooking

Have you done a 100 day project? I’d love to hear about it

Tell us what you thought about this article

