Chickpea and edamame bean salad
#100daysofcooking, Recipes

Chew on this for a while: Day 43’s chickpea salad is a mouthful


Chickpea and edamame bean salad with mint


Follow your instinct, they say. Apparently today my second instinct was to ignore my first instinct, which led me to a chickpea recipe that didn’t quite, um, stink.

But close.

Here is the situation:

On Day 42, I told you about the second great parsnip recipe to have entered my life — julienned parsnips with red pepper and pesto. I also noted that this recipe incorporated chickpeas, which IMHO were unnecessary. However, I’ve now opened the can of chickpeas and so those go from being on the list of future kitchen castoffs to being today’s key ingredient.

Googling the search term “What can I make with leftover chickpeas?” turned up beans. Specifically, bean salad.

The post that made me smile was from Serious Eats, where the first sentence from writer Blake Moyer spoke right to me.

“I’m not,” he writes, “too crazy about room-temperature bean salads.”

Me either!

Blake went on to discuss a Jamie Oliver salad using chickpeas, feta, onion, cherry tomatoes, mint and basil. It all sounded very nice, but then Blake went and ruined it for me with his final comment.

“It’s not a revolutionary recipe,” he wrote, “but it was simple to prepare and very appealing. The trick to take away is the heating of the chickpeas.”

So I went away. I held onto the heat-the-chickpea trick with me and found another recipe (this one on Kalyn’s Kitchen) that was everything I normally expect from a bean salad.

Disappointment.

This recipe combined the chickpeas with edamame beans (so I’ve now used up the last of those suckers) and mint (bought for the snow peas with water chestnuts recipe) and a lemon-based dressing. The flavour was good, but — as Dan woefully phrased it — it was just too bean-y.

There was a lot of chewing.

On the bright side, Blake was correct about heating chickpeas. I put mine in a skillet with a bit of olive oil and salt and frankly it was a wonder there any were left to go into the salad. Delicious right out of the pan.

Garbanzo beans, indeed.

Next time we’ve got some in the house, I’ll be sure to give the Jamie Oliver salad a shot.

Kitchen castoffs used

Remainders of chickpea and edamame beans

Chickpea and edamame bean salad
Chickpea and edamame bean salad with mint in a simple lemon dressing

This is how we did it

Ingredients

For the salad

  • 15 ounce can of chickpeas
  • 1 1/2 cups shelled, cooked edamame
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup thinly slice green onions
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup chopped mint (or more, or less, depending on your love for and availability of fresh mint)

For the dressing

  • Zest and juice of one large lemon (about 1 tbsp zest and 3 tbsp juice)
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

Method

Drain and rinse the chickpeas, then heat in a skillet with a bit of olive oil and salt. Sample some, because they are really good. When tender, remove from heat and let cool.
Cook the edamame beans, rinse and let cool.

In the bowl that you will use to assemble the salad, combine the lemon zest, juice, garlic and olive oil and whisk together. Add the chickpeas, edamame, green onions and mint. Salt and pepper to taste.


Curious about my “Kitchen Castoffs” concept? Here’s the explainer describing my 100-day project.

Are you enjoying these blog posts? If you are, share the joy and use one of the handy buttons on this page to post a link to Facebook, Twitter or Pinterest. Thanks!

Tell us what you thought about this article

