Ginger root
#100daysofcooking, Recipes

Day 71: A little ginger for what ails you


Crunchy Detox Salad with Ginger-Lemon Dressing


Here is an unexpected predicament.

On or about the 68th day of my 100-day journey of cooking and blogging, I managed to party my way into a case of the Walking Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Flu. OK, probably not actual pneumonia. I hope.

This now makes me a cook and blogger with no appetite, no energy, and for whom everything tastes a bit like metal. (I don’t understand that one either.)

As if the final 20-odd days of this #100dayproject weren’t going to be difficult enough.

So I did what any self-respecting computer owner in the 21st century does when a new strategy is needed. I googled the phrase “recipes for when you are sick and can’t taste anything.”

Ask and ye shall receive.

I was specifically looking for ideas that would be tempting, nutritious and not soup. Google answered loud and clear: spicy foods, ginger and popsicles. There were other things, too, but those were my faves. With the kids grown up and moved out, we just don’t buy enough popsicles.

Dan suggested he make a gumbo (spicy, lots of protein and a good act of self-preservation on his part) and I chose a “detox” vegetable salad featuring a lemon-ginger dressing that the blog author raved about.

Ginger really is a miracle root. (See what I did there?) I drink ginger ale very sporadically, but always when I am flying or when I am ill. Ginger root is full of properties that help soothe digestive systems and curb nausea, according to this article from bbcgoodfood.com. When made into a tea, it warms you up from the inside and promotes perspiration — good for when you are starting to feel like you are coming down with something or when you are just feeling chilled.

The salad, reminiscent of some of the bagged “super-food” salads sold in grocery stores these days, includes chopped broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, carrots and celery plus scatters of sunflower seeds, slivered almonds and raisins.

Between it and the gumbo, the churning and gnawing in my stomach was appeased. At least for a while.

And for dessert? Yeah, you guessed it.

Popsicles.

Kitchen Castoff Used

None today, sorry folks. Can I get credit for casting away my self-pity and sticking to the plan? 🙂

Crunchy detox salad is served with nuts, seeds, raisins and a ginger-lemon dressing
Crunchy detox salad is served with nuts, seeds, raisins and a ginger-lemon dressing

This is how we did it

Ingredients

  • 2 cups broccoli, chopped small
  • 2 cups cauliflower, chopped small
  • 1 cup purple cabbage, chopped
  • 1 cup carrot, chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • ¼ cup (or less) raw, unsalted sunflower seeds
  • ¼ cup (or less) slivered almonds
  • ¼ cup (or less) raisins
  • 3 tbsp chopped parsley, if desired
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice (original recipe called for 1/2 cup but we both found the lemon too strong)
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp grated fresh ginger
  • 2 tbsp liquid honey
  • ½ tsp salt

Method

Combine all chopped vegetables into a bowl. For the cauliflower and broccoli, I used a food processor to get really small pieces — smaller than I could have done in a bowl. Stir in the nuts, seeds, raisins and parsley, if using.

For the dressing, combine the lemon juice, olive oil, ginger, honey and salt into a jar and shake to mix well. (Or use a bowl and a whisk.) Try to to wait at least an hour to give the flavours time to meld.

Bonus recipe: Ginger Tea

Seeing as I am literally typing from under a mound of blankets, I figured I’d give the “warm from the inside” theory a shot and am happy to say it works.

Method

Steep four of five thin slices (about 1 tbsp) of fresh ginger with a bit of honey and lemon in a cup of hot water.

Another bonus!

It’s like prizes for reaching the end of the story.

Remember how, in the Sugar Pie post, I introduced you to my old band The Red Hotz in a video of us performing I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch.) I guess I just can’t help myself again. Here are The Red Hotz, performing Huey “Piano” Smith’s  Rockin’ Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Flu.


Curious about my “Kitchen Castoffs” concept? Here’s the explainer describing my 100-day project.

Are you enjoying these blog posts? If you are, share the joy and use one of the handy buttons on this page to post a link to Facebook, Twitter or Pinterest. Thanks!

1 thought on “Day 71: A little ginger for what ails you”

Tell us what you thought about this article

